Christmas Dance

A very successful Christmas Dance was held at the Clubhouse on Saturday 8th December with all tickets being sold out.  Members and guests enjoyed dancing to ‘The Texans’ who played a wide-range of music to suit every taste including some festive tunes. Attendees had been asked to bring a plate of food each which, when put together, provided a wonderful buffet during the evening.  The Clubhouse had been adorned beautifully with Christmas decorations. Thanks go to everyone who helped out and, especially, to Angela & Brian Lamb for the overall organisation of the event.

The Texans

Dancing the night away

Doing the Conga

Short Mat Tournament – Autumn 2018

A very successful Short Mat Tournament was held at the Club on Sunday 25th November.  The winning team were Maurice Kibby, Rita Redstone, John Redstone & Mowic Simions from Bow – the runners-up, from Torbay, were Alan & Val Roonsley with Jacquie & Brian. Twelve teams took part and a good day of play was had by all.

Short Mat Tournament – Autumn 2018


Thanks from Jenny!

Jenny Gilbert, Ladies Captain for 2017/2018, would like to thank everyone for their help and support over the Bowling season and, especially, for helping to raise £1,150.00 for the Ladies Charity this year, the Tavistock Hospital League of Friends.

Men’s Devon Unbadged Triples Champions

Three members of the Club have become Devon Champions in the unbadged triples competition. Mick Clark, Tony Smith and Tony Boxall, who played in the finals at Hemyock on Sunday 9th September.
Tony Smith attended the Bowls Devon Presentation event, held at The Langstone Cliff Hotel in Dawlish Warren, on Sunday 28th October to receive the winners’ Shield from the Bowls Devon President on behalf of the team.
The Shield was then presented to the three players at the Club’s Annual Dinner & Presentation Evening on Saturday 3rd November by the Chairman, Mike Felles.

Tony Smith, Tony Boxall & Mick Clark with the Devon Unbadged Triples Shield

Annual Dinner & Presentation Evening 2018

The Club held a very successful Annual Dinner & Presentation Evening at Tavistock Golf Club on Saturday 3rd November. Trophies were awarded by the Club’s Chairman, Mr Mike Felles, to the following.


Timmins Triples League: Winners ‘Dream Team’ – V Stacey, E Piper, T Gobby, R Kelly & H Lovell

Men’s Handicap: Winner G Carter – Runner Up D Blair

Kerswill: Winner H Kelly – Runner Up D Blair

Bryan Parker : Winner H Kelly – Runner Up  J Gilbert

Muzzlewhite: Winner Chris Carter – Runner Up Charles Carter

Men’s Two Wood: Winner M Clark – Runner Up R Gilbert

Men’s Championship: Winner M Clark – Runner Up T Boxall

Men’s Pairs: Winners C Jago & T Boxall – Runners Up M Allen & R Kelly

The Chairman also presented the Bowls Devon Shield for the Unbadged Triples Champions to Mick Clark, Tony Smith & Tony Boxall

Short Mat

Mixed Pairs: Winners V Stacey & L Becker  – Runners Up B Ellicott & M Matthews

Mixed Triples: Winners A Young, B Davis & S Blackburn  – Runners Up B Lamb,  J Vogelaar, M Jones

72s: Winner S Blackburn  – Runner Up L Becker

Bryan Parker: Winner G Blackburn  – Runner Up J Sloane

Ladies Singles: Winner S Blackburn  – Runner Up P Pearson

Men’s Singles: Winner V Stacey  – Runner Up A Gobby

Championship: Winner V Stacey  – Runner Up S Blackburn

Charity Cheque Presentation

During the 2018 season, the Ladies Section of the Bowls Club carried out a variety of fundraising events (Ladies Charity Day & auction, Spider competitions, Ladies League raffles and ‘whisky bottle on bar’ donations) culminating in a total of £1,150 being raised for Tavistock Hospital League of Friends.  At the Club’s monthly coffee morning held on Saturday 3 November, the Ladies Captain, Jenny Gilbert, presented a cheque for £1,150 to Joy Harrison, Chairman of the Tavistock Hospital League of Friends.  Joy spoke about the work that the League of Friends do to support the hospital and the range of equipment they provide. Their current project, which the Club’s donation will support, is the replacement of all the chairs in the hospital.

Left to right – Sue Silcox (Bowls Club Ladies Secretary), Christine Leach (League of Friends Treasurer), Joy Harrison (League of Friends Chairman), Jenny Gilbert (Bowls Club Ladies Captain)