Category Archives: Uncategorized

Quiz Night – Wednesday 14th February

There will be a Quiz Night on Wednesday 14th February commencing at 7.30pm in the Clubhouse. The cost is £5 per person to include a buffet. The first prize is £50 and there will also be prizes for second & third places.   Maximum number in a team is six. All profits to Club funds.  Please put your names on the main Club noticeboard if you would like to come or call Tony Smith. Non Club members are welcome.

League Winners Cup

The Men’s team has now received the Hore Belisha Cup for coming top of Division B of the Evening League in 2017. The cup was originally presented by The Rt Hon Leslie Hore Belisha, Secretary of State for War in 1939, to the Plymouth & District Bowling League in 1947. The Club had previously won the Cup in 2002 & 2014. The Club has now been promoted to Division A for the 2018 season.

New Committee at AGM

Following the AGM, held on Wednesday 22 November, the following were appointed into posts for the 2017/2018 season.

Committee Appointments

Chairman – Mike Felles

Vice Chairman – Vacant

Secretary – Diana Smirles

Treasurer – Val Blair

Men’s Secretary/Club Match Secretary – David Blair

Men’s Captain – Vacant

Ladies’ Captain – Jenny Gilbert

Ladies’ Secretary – Sue Silcox

Bar Manager – Charles Carter

Short Mat Representative – Tony Gobby

Short Mat Captain – Vacant

Club Greenkeeper – David Blair

Non Committee Appointments

Club Competition Secretary – Clive Jago

Men’s Vice Captain – Vacant

Ladies’ Vice Captain – Sue Silcox

Short Mat Vice Captain – Charles Carter

Short Mat Secretary – Diana Smirles (in her role as Hon Gen Secretary)

Short Mat Competition Secretary – Shirley Blackburn

Annual Dinner & Presentation Evening 2017

The Club held a very successful Annual Dinner & Presentation Evening at Tavistock Golf Club on Saturday 4th November. Trophies were awarded by the Club’s Chairman, Mr Tony Boxall, to the following.


Timmins Triples League: Winners M Allen, Mrs B Carter, T Gobby, E Piper, J Smith

Mixed Triples: Winners M Felles, Mrs J Gilbert, R Gillfillan – Runners Up R Kelly, Mrs S Gillfillan, Mrs M Paramor

Mixed Pairs: Winners Mrs E Browse, R Gilbert – Runners Up Mrs H Lovell, N Paramor

Men’s Handicap: Winner E Piper – Runner Up P Willicott

Kerswill: Winner M Clark – Runner Up D Johns

Bryan Parker : Winner M Clark – Runner Up D Johns

Muzzlewhite: Winner M Felles – Runner Up P Willicott

Men’s Two Wood: Winner H Kelly – Runner Up C Carter

Men’s Championship: Winner T Boxall – Runner Up M Clark

Men’s Pairs: Winners M Allen, H Kelly – Runners Up T Smith, R Gilbert

Ladies Two Woods: Winner Mrs M Allen – Runner Up Mrs P Anstead

Ladies Pairs: Winners Mrs J Gilbert, Mrs H Lovell – Runners Up Mrs E Browse, Mrs V Blair

Ladies Championship: Winner Mrs M Allen – Runner Up Mrs V Blair

Ladies Handicap: Winner Mrs V Blair – Runner Up Mrs P Anstead

Short Mat

Mixed Pairs: Winners Mrs S Blackburn, J Timmins – Runners Up B Ellicott, T Gobby

Mixed Triples: Winners E Browse, B Ellicott, J Sloane – Runners Up Mrs B Carter, D Johns, Mrs D Pittaway

72s: Winner: B Lamb – Runner Up Mrs S Blackburn

Bryan Parker: Winner G Blackburn, Runner Up J Timmins

Ladies Singles: Winner Mrs M Paramor – Runner Up Mrs B Carter

Men’s Singles: Winner R Mitchell – Runner Up D Johns

Championship: Winner R Mitchell – Runner Up Mrs M Paramor

Charity Cheque Presentation

During the 2017 season, the Ladies Section of the Bowls Club carried out a variety of fundraising events culminating in a total of £900 being raised for the Children’s Hospice South West.  At the Club’s monthly coffee morning held on Saturday 4 November, the Ladies Captain, Val Blair, presented a cheque for £900 to Zoe Partridge, Community Fundraiser for Plymouth & District and North-East & South-East Cornwall.

Short Mat Autumn Tournament

The Club held its Autumn Short Mat Tournament on Sunday 8 October.  The winning team was from Bow consisting of Rita Redstone, John Redstone, Monica Simons & Maurice Kibby.  The runners-up, from Crownhill, were Ken Dent, Keith Launder, Bob Clarke & Ken Tunnicliff.  Around £440 was raised for Club funds from the event.

The winning team from Bow with Mike Felles, Short Mat Captain

The runners-up from Crownhill with Mike Felles, Short Mat Captain